Music Video: Drake – Over

Fact. Music videos these days are strange because when I was a kid I thought they were all amazing. But looking back, even most of the music videos I grew up watching were strange. I say strange in the sense that they don’t always follow the song or they are so typical that the video could be filled in with any other song and music artist.

This music video marks Drake’s second or third official music video. Now thinking back to the video for “Best I Ever Had,” Drake’s fans were generally upset/disliked the video because it “had nothing to do with the song,” until Drake came out and said that the song “was not meant to be serious” and therefore not special or romantic. Fans let it go. Months later, here is the video for the first single “Over” from the highly anticipated (and delayed) debut album, “Thank Me Later.” I think most fans will dislike this video too. Even the night “Over” came out everyone had something negative to say and now people love it.

One of my boys, who pushes the line of a hip-hop purist (for good reason), wasn’t really feeling the song. He said, Drake does too much by changing his voice when outside of the verses. I understood where he was coming from because that was my problem too. But I tried to think of the song conceptually in relation to the beat & instrumentation, lyrics, and then Drake’s intonation. So I imagine this track as Drake alone, wavering in and out of a drunken escapade (the chorus) in which he has a moment(s) of clarity (his verses). In that respect, this song and video are meant to represent Drake thinking about the life he’s in now and his rise to the top. He’s probably surrounded by new artists (and their entourage), record executives, fans, etc. every day…so this song is him taking a moment to sit back and reflect on all of that. Each verse represents his deep-inner thoughts and the chorus represents his outward demeanor, “doing me” no matter who is around from night-to-night.

I know way too many people here right now
That I didn’t know last year, who the fuck are y’all?
I swear it feels like the last few nights
We been everywhere and back
But I just can’t remember it all

What am I doin’? What am I doin’?
Oh, yeah, that’s right, I’m doin’ me
I’m doin me
I’m livin’ life right now, mayne

And this what I’ma do ’til it’s over
‘Til it’s over
But it’s far from over…..

This entry was posted in Music Videos and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Music Video: Drake – Over

  1. D. Hud says:

    I was JUST about to post this… with that said, I’m definitely not a big fan of the new video. I love the song, although it did take a while to grow on me, but this video just does nothing for me at all.

    • Rev.R says:

      Haha, I figured someone else would want to get their hands on it. I’m not a fan either, its just so weird. There is a rare middle ground between typical rap video and attempted artistry in a music video that we don’t see anymore. This falls in that attempted artistry category.

  2. The First Lady says:

    I beg to differ gentlemen. Though I’m not head over heals in love with this video…I have to say, the innovation and artistry are impressive. Recently it’s almost difficult to find a music video with a story line. Many are either typical or feature the artist literally telling the story within the lyrics therefore they have no choice but to follow suite in the video (e.i. Taylor Swift…almost every single damn song). Anyhow, I think was Drake tried to do with this particular video was appealing and unusual. The use of technology and special effects hold a deeper meaning than what ya’ll are seeing. Like Rev.R stated the song is his reflection on his climb to the top, so to speak. Take a look at the video again…you’ll see it actually correlates to his words. From the lights of traffic to the milling people around him, everything fits a in a way.

    I don’t know if I’m a right…but just my thoughts 🙂

Comments are closed.