John Mayer’s Playboy Interview

Hey John Mayer…you know you done f’ed up right?! I don’t know if any of you have heard, seeing as we’re all to busy worrying when its going to snow again but, John Mayer decided to run his mouth in an interview with Playboy and he dropped the n-word. Not only did he drop it he took it too far and thought he had the clairvoyance, expertise and even the right to make some terrible statements about African-Americans. Quite frankly he didn’t even answer the questions that were directed at him and when he did he just took shots at African Americans in his responses. I’ve included the controversial Q&A below, read it at your own discretion and know that it is by no means kind or humorous.

I know some of my friends, specifically my African American friends, claim that they like to branch out in their music tastes…and that’s all good-&-well. But, I don’t care how much you like those damn John Mayer songs you have. I think this is one artist you can stop supporting, aside from the fact that he is a known @$$hole these opinions are incredibly fierce and I refuse to believe any of the explanations that may come out of his camp. Mayer was bluntly and plainly ignorant in this private interview but that word means nothing these days when everyone from former-president George W. Bush to the creators of Facebook & Twitter are doing all they can to get your information and de-privatize America.

I’m done. And I wish someone would try and approach me and say “Mayer was exercising his freedom of speech, he was expressing his opinion…BLAH, BLAH, BLAH.” I see that he is speaking freely and he is expressing his opinion…that just happens to be entirely racist and ignorant but I don’t have to like, appreciate, or respect anything he said.  And while I’m still ranting, America was OUTRAGED when Kanye West interrupted Taylor Swift’s acceptance speech at the VMAs and what he did was rude and ignorant as well. But, I bet you Mayer gets off the hook while Kanye West is still looked down upon.

The Playboy Interview

PLAYBOY: If you didn’t know you, would you think you’re a douche bag?

MAYER: It depends on what I picked up. My two biggest hits are “Your Body Is a Wonderland” and “Daughters.” If you think those songs are pandering, then you’ll think I’m a douche bag. It’s like I come on very strong. I am a very…I’m just very. V-E-R-Y. And if you can’t handle very, then I’m a douche bag. But I think the world needs a little very. That’s why black people love me.

PLAYBOY: Because you’re very?

MAYER: Someone asked me the other day, “What does it feel like now to have a hood pass?” And by the way, it’s sort of a contradiction in terms, because if you really had a hood pass, you could call it a nigger pass. Why are you pulling a punch and calling it a hood pass if you really have a hood pass? But I said, “I can’t really have a hood pass. I’ve never walked into a restaurant, asked for a table and been told, ‘We’re full.’”

PLAYBOY: It is true; a lot of rappers love you. You recorded with Common and Kanye West, played live with Jay-Z.

MAYER: What is being black? It’s making the most of your life, not taking a single moment for granted. Taking something that’s seen as a struggle and making it work for you, or you’ll die inside. Not to say that my struggle is like the collective struggle of black America. But maybe my struggle is similar to one black dude’s.

PLAYBOY: Do black women throw themselves at you?

MAYER: I don’t think I open myself to it. My dick is sort of like a white supremacist. I’ve got a Benetton heart and a fuckin’ David Duke cock. I’m going to start dating separately from my dick.

PLAYBOY: Let’s put some names out there. Let’s get specific.

MAYER: I always thought Holly Robinson Peete was gorgeous. Every white dude loved Hilary from The Fresh Prince of Bel-Air. And Kerry Washington. She’s superhot, and she’s also white-girl crazy. Kerry Washington would break your heart like a white girl. Just all of a sudden she’d be like, “Yeah, I sucked his dick. Whatever.” And you’d be like, “What? We weren’t talking about that.” That’s what “Heartbreak Warfare” is all about, when a girl uses jealousy as a tactic.

Read the full interview here.

Mayer’s Twitter apology.

Re: using the ‘N word’ in an interview: I am sorry that I used the word. And it’s such a shame that I did because the point I was trying to make was in the exact opposite spirit of the word itself. It was arrogant of me to think I could intellectualize using it, because I realize that there’s no intellectualizing a word that is so emotionally charged.

And while I’m using today for looking at myself under harsh light, I think it’s time to stop trying to be so raw in interviews….It started as an attempt to not let the waves of criticism get to me, but it’s gotten out of hand and I’ve created somewhat of a monster.

I wanted to be a blues guitar player. And a singer. And a songwriter. Not a shock jock. I don’t have the stomach for it.

Again, because I don’t want anyone to think I’m equivocating: I should have never said the word and I will never say it again.

I just wanted to play the guitar for people. Everything else just sort of popped up and I improvised, and kept doubling down on it…

Change and belief in such an idea as stopping and preventing the spreading and support of slurs and derogatory words starts on an individual basis. Quite frankly I don’t care about the constructs surrounding the words he used. Fact of the matter is as an individual JOHN MAYER is accountable for what he said EQUALLY as KANYE WEST or any individual is for any unruly and politically incorrect comments made, regardless of the level they stand on. In this interview Mayer was speaking on behalf of and only for himself. Change and belief in such an idea in addition to stopping and preventing the spreading and support of slurs and derogatory words starts on an individual basis. If Mayer is so intelligent then he should realize he misplaced his intellect. If he wants to make that kind of commentary using such a heavy word he needs to write a book and use accurate and relevant academia not fantasize about “Hillary Banks.”

This entry was posted in Media/Pop-Culture and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to John Mayer’s Playboy Interview

  1. D. Hud says:

    So I guess I won’t be listening to any more of his stuff on my iPod…

  2. Nick says:

    He was REALLY feelin himself when he took that interview.
    I think it’s something in the air in Hollywood: celebrities do first, think later. With that bein said tho, how hard is it to avoid using the word “nigga” if you did not grow up in that culture?

    • Rev.R says:

      Not only that how hard is it to avoid in a society where people are entirely aware of how controversial and powerful a word it is. I’m not asking for this man to go to jail or be crucified but he definitely spoke before fully thinking about what he was saying. I gathered what he was trying to say but I entirely disagree with how he said it and at the end of the day this is his opinion he is stating.

  3. Ryan says:

    The Rev knows how I feel about it, his ignorance is only topped by his lack of understanding for the black community, and lack of appreciation for black women.

    this is just as bad, but loser to home.

    http://www.cavalierdaily.com/2010/02/09/june-bug/

Comments are closed.