Can I get some Andre?

After being called out by Rev.R and D Hud about blogging (comparing post numbers—how juvenile!), I guess it is time for me to come back and write about something. London Week sorta just ended… I’ll add the last few posts so bear with me. For now, I will talk about the greatness that is Andre!!

I had brunch with my girl Nikki* (if you live in NoVa, Deluxe Cafe by Tysons has an excellent Sunday Brunch) today. It’s a pretty nice, busy restaurant. Fancy enough, but not too expensive. It was no IHOP though.

To get the day started, and to celebrate seeing each other after quite sometime, she ordered a Mimosa. I just went for pure OJ.

Mimosa, according to Wiki, “is a cocktail-like drink composed of three parts champagne or other sparkling wine and two parts thoroughly chilled orange juice. It is traditionally served in a tall champagne flute with a morning brunch or to guests at weddings.

So don’t worry if you haven’t had a chance to order this at the club.

They brought it in a wine-flute, all dainty. You could tell that they had probably used a really good champagne in it.  They served it with a lot of ooh-la-la. Even I was jealous looking at my simple OJ sitting untouched next to me.

Nikki picked up the flute and brought it to her lips. She took a good sip. Swallowed. She made a face and said:

“This sh*** ain’t Andre!”

**********************************

I happened to have just taken a sip of my OJ and spilt/spit some out of my mouth from laughter.

So she would prefer Andre over expensive champagne? What is it about Andre? It is the best-selling sparkling wine in the US. Outside of the price (like $4-$5 a pop), it actually tastes pretty fabulous. I have a personal preference for the strawberry flavor and the yellow bottle (peach?). Most of us, at least I, see Andre as a stepping stone, financially, to the more expensive and acclaimed wines that we’ll be drinking in the future. But then, as I think about it, unless I want to feel like I’ve moved on, I’ll keep drinking Andre even as I make that million dollar commission (career in question TBD).

What about other things? Will I move from Macys to Bloomingdales? Victoria’s Secret to La Perla? McDonald’s to…scratch that, I’ll always be fond of the late-night drive thru.

So as we, ambitious Cavaliers, make our mark on the world in the future, what will you be leaving behind as you move ahead financially? And what can you never let go of? I guess it’ll be Strawberry Andre and Double Quarter Pounder! Classy.

*name changed

This entry was posted in Lifestyles. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Can I get some Andre?

  1. R. Hicks says:

    iight real talk i was drinking mimosas all today, (cuz my aunt is a g) and she told me it can be OJ and just champagne…which I drank- also told me how it can be done with crappy champagne. FYI lol

    • pr0go says:

      Yah, champagne comes in price ranges. You know what? I am going to make myself one now…yes, I have Andre stocked in the fridge for emergencies.

Comments are closed.