Artist Spotlight: Who is “Kid Sister”?

Now that the magazine is done I’m back on the blog-flow and that means back to this music because its what I do!

Today’s focus is an emcee from Chicago, Kid Sister (real name Melissa Young) and quite frankly she’s got some fresh music. The only way I can think to describe her style is Electro-Hip Hop-R&B and she’s not using auto-tune!

Kid Sister is definitely part of this new wave of artists who have the talent to venture into dangerous territory by creating a crossover between several genres of music to create a distinct & original sound. What’s more though is that its not just about the beats these artists go over, its their vocal talents-the ability to sing and rap (with lyrical talent and a great flow) is the new trend in music now.

Kid Sister put out her first album, “Ultraviolet” last month on November 17th and it is available on iTunes (support the artist). My favorite songs off the album is “Get Fresh” and “Right Hand Hi.” If you want to hear more of her music before buying check her MySpace page and also watch the video below for some one-on-one with Kid Sister from RubyTV.

This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Artist Spotlight: Who is “Kid Sister”?

  1. Rev.R says:

    If I left anyone in doubt before…go and get the Ultraviolet album. I’m especially feeling these tracks…Pro Nails, Get Fresh, Right Hand Hi, & Step.

  2. BTHOM says:

    Yo this article was hot Rev.R! I’ve been bumpin kid sis for a minute. Pro Nails was my jam back in 08 and I think shes hella good looking. She’s dating A-Trak (was Kanye’s official DJ, idk if he still is) and her bro’s in Flosstrodamus. Imma check her album out, thanks for this post yo.

Comments are closed.