Jersey Export/ MTV and stereotypes

When driving through New Jersey on our way to New York for the Lupe concert, a few months ago, I was told that NJ is called, “the armpit of America.” I’d never heard that saying before, and no offense (though I am technically being offensive), I can understand why! 😉

But I digress…

To see the newest export that NJ has to give us is quite interesting. If you watch MTV, then you have probably seen the ads for “Jersey Shore” a reality show “where eight roommates from all AROUND THE TRI-STATE AREA come together to share a summer they’ll never forget at the jersey shore”. Right.

BUT if you watched the promo, MTV does the most stereotypical thing ever by claiming that the show will capture the ”hottest, tannest, craziest Guidos” who “keep their hair high, their muscles juiced and their fists pumping all summer long!” LMAO.  Really MTV? WOWOWOWOW! Stereotypical much?

If I was Italian American…. But mostly I was surprised that not one person interrupted the production of the ad

Of course, there has been some flack. UNICO National, an Italian-American organization based in New Jersey, are complaining that the add “relies on crude stereotypes and highlights cursing, bad behavior and violence in depicting renters at a New Jersey beach house”.

Funnily enough, tonight in the comfort of my home, as I salivated over the thought of munching down food tomorrow, I saw the ad again, but this time, they took out the word Guidos.

So it was just a GREAT PUBLICITY stunt, in my opinion. Because I was definitely not going to watch the show. But it picked up some publicity. I saw this on perezhilton.com, AND the huffington post. I’m still not going to watch the show either way. But it’s interesting how MTV can get away with pushing the envelope that way. Oh MTV…keep me smiling.

 

source: huffingtonpost.com

This entry was posted in Media/Pop-Culture, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.