"hit me on twitter". i suppose

twitterÏn connection with the last post (maybe Rev.R had a prediction), Twitter shut down for a couple of hours this morning due to a “denial-of-service attack”. What does that mean anyway you ask?

In a denial-of-service attack, a malicious party barrages a server with so many requests that it can’t keep up, or causes it to reset. As a result, legitimate users can only access the server very slowly — or not at all, as appears to be the case here.

Not only was the site down, but client applications that depend on the Twitter API could also not connect to the service, creating a complete Twitter blackout. According to June ComScore numbers Twitter has more than 44 million registered users and its user base has been growing rapidly for months as it becomes better known in the mainstream.

I know some of you were hyperventilating and all… but don’t worry, it’s back up.

source: wired.com

This entry was posted in Media/Pop-Culture, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to "hit me on twitter". i suppose

  1. D. Hud says:

    Real talk, I thought my life was over for those 2 hours… I think I rely on Twitter a little too much, lol.

  2. frediebou says:

    I COMPLETELY SECOND THAT. By not being able to know/tweet about what’s going on in the news or in my friends’ life, and I felt… like a deaf mute, to say the least. And that is sad, because it just shows you how much our lives now revolve around social communication networks such as Facebook or Twitter. And that is a sad, sad existence. Whatever happened to having a face-to-face convo, where everything is out on the table?

Comments are closed.