Attack of the "Cudi Buddies"

London

And I present to you…the newest rapper/singer/hipster, fashioned in the mold of Kid Cudi and all of his contemporaries alike: Theophilus London.  Other blogs have made reference to London and his rising popularity throughout the summer months, so I have finally succumed to my curiosity and decided to take a gander.  Note: I have given some of London’s work very brief, preliminary once-overs, so it would seem that anything I have written about London up to this point and for the rest of the following entry should probably not be taken seriously at all.  However, you will strangely continue reading this entry until you finish it because you probably want to find out as much information as humanly possible about someone who’s parents had enough cojones to name him, T-H-E-O-P-H-I-L-U-S.

Anyways, London is a rapper from Brooklyn, who has recently dropped, “The Charming Mixtape.”  As I listened to a few tracks off of the mixtape, I quickly noticed that London likes to sing and rap on tracks in much the same way as Kid Cudi.  He seems to be a pensive artist who has a lot to say, and I haven’t quite made up my mind about him yet.  However, I will point out that I’m not too keen on his flow.  He structures his verses pretty well, but his enunciation is quite troubling and it often takes away from some of his lyrical genius.  Yet, overall he is a great new artist to be on the lookout for, and you should definitely give his mixtape a listen.

Finally, I just want to point out a new trend that seems to be emerging.  It is becoming more and more apparent that rap and hip-hop once again seem to be heading in a new direction.  The hybrid rapper/singer has recently become one of the single most intriguing commodities withing the hip-hop realm.  Early pioneers of this versatile style such as Skateboard P and Chamillionaire have been rapping/singing for years now, but it is possible that Cudi, Drake, and now Theophilus London will take this genre to new heights.  As a hip-hop fanatic, it would be wise to keep an eye on this developing trend and what it might mean for hip-hop in the near future.  Also, for future reference, I will oh so cleverly refer to rapper/singers as “Cudi Buddies”.  That was just a little random tidbit for you.  Check out London!

About AP

A 4th year student at the University of Virginia...
This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.